Hello, I have a question about Routers

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by 1flyfisher, Jul 25, 2007.

1. Hello,
    I am new to the board, first post and have a question about whether this Router will be sufficient to insure wireless security. I started trading in the early 80's with the first home PC (IBM JR) and a 300 baud modem through Dial Data, prior to an Internet, Aol, Compuserve, Prodigy days. I have taken the last few years off from trading but I am starting back up. I have fallen behind with the current available technology but want excellent security. I have a new Dell laptop coming soon which I will use as a dedicated trading computer(No Internet) I have an old desk top with Windows 98 for the internet.

Will this ROUTER be sufficient for wireless security, does it have all the security features you need these days?

I just need the laptop to be wireless not the desktop. Will this work with an old pc and windows 98 and a new laptop? Linksys tells me it will work with the old pc and windows 98(which is what I was concerned about because some routers require 2000 or XP.
    I imagine my SBC DSL modem and the router will connect to the old windows 98 PC with an ethernet cable?and that will work to make the laptop wireless.

I am technologically unsaavy(trying to learn though).
    THANKS for any help

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage...CategoryId=pcmcat25300050001&id=1166234894847
    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Sate...nksys/Common/VisitorWrapper&lid=8437836001B01

2. Please delete this thread it is a duplicate of the one below. The boards have been troublsome to me since I signed up. They wouldn't allow me to start a thread and now they won't allow me to delete this thread. I get this message.

You do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons: