Hello All, Chicago Newbie here

Discussion in 'Forex' started by BurgeoningRich, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Just wanted to say Hi,
    my Name is Derek I'm a 23 year old man from Chicago. I work in ad sales but I want to learn to trade forex et al to achieve financial freedom. I know absolutely nothing about forex but I am seeking knowledge constantly, I would love any help advice and guidance anyone can offer.

2. VTI0990

VTI0990

Pick a currency and start watching its chart to learn how it moves. Spend at least a few hours a day doing this. After a few weeks or even months doing that, start trading with paper money and keeping track of what you do, what works, and what doesn't. That may take anywhere from a few months to a few years. Good luck.

3. Never forget this: the vast majority funds the tiny minority in forex. I do not know what the exact numbers are, but 90% vs 10% will not surprise me at all.

The name of the game is true education (do not confuse this with reading books. There are good books, but also bad ideas in books).

4. Read "Getting Started in Currency Trading" by Michael Archer. Good intro book to get you started before thinking about putting even a paper trade on.

5. A few things that might be helpful...

- Find a style of trading that matches your personality.
    - Keep good records. They will be extremely important to you in the future.
    - Like VTI0990 said, just focus on a single pair (e.g. EURUSD) and learn it like the back of your hand.

6. Work hard and sell a lot of ads.

7. Yeah - I forgot about that! Don't quit your day job BurgeoningRich. Have patience because a market will always be there.

8. i'm in the same situation, learning to trade forex.

i suggest opening a demo account and turning that profitable with solid trading ideas before putting up any funds.

do you have any experience trading? the same technical analysis skills are helpful.

9. tom123

tom123