Hedging foreign currency credit?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by tomkit66, Jun 1, 2001.

1. tomkit66

tomkit66

Hello everybody,

maybe someone can give me a hand on this:

I have a EUR 300.000 credit with a local bank where I have to pay 6% per year on interests for the next 20 years. Well, this is a secure and stable but very expensive way and our banks do offer credits in foreign currencies like the swiss franc and japanese yen as well.

The Jap. YEN credit costs about 1,75% per year and someone
    only pays the interests while the part for the capital payment goes into a life insurance or a fund for the whole life time of the credit.

So I thought about ways to minimize my currency risk with options and/or futures contracts. Unfortunately none of our local banks offers something like this, they only say this can´t be done or it´s far too expensive.

I am not a financial expert but my feeling tells me that there should be a way to limit and hedge the currrency risk with some of the saved and remaining 4,25% (6 - 1,75) interests!

Am I right? Can this be done without getting too expensive?

When I think about what happens when the jap.YEN increases let´s say 10% that would mean that my credit goes up to EUR 330.000, how many options would I have to buy to equalize EUR 30.000?

Thanks in advance for any help or hints where I can get the needed informations or advise how to do the maths!

Tom K.
    Europe

2. vvv

vvv

beware of foreign currency credits with lower interest rates to save on interest payments in your home country with higher interest rates, I'm aware of the fact that a number of crooks in europe are trying to sell them by marketing the low interest rates in japan etc, but with all costs and risks factored into the equation the cost/ benefit analysis shows zero practicability: