Hedging before getting employee stock grants

Discussion in 'Options' started by alpha.star, Jan 17, 2019.

1. Let's say an engineer is joining Apple (APPL) and will receive restricted stock units (RSUs) worth $100k vested over 4 years. The number of shares the engineer will receive is:

number of RSU shares = $100,000 / P

where P is APPL closing price on the day of the first board meeting after the engineer's start date (say, 2/14/2019). Note that Apple's 2018 Q4 earning call will be on 1/30/2019 which historically swings APPL by 10% in either direction.

Apple APPL is $154 on 1/17/2019 (today). The engineer is effectively forced to buy $100k worth of APPL in RSU grant on 2/14/2019 at the closing price. If the engineer expects APPL to be higher on 2/14 (say 10% higher at $170), what would be a good way to hedge from today (1/17) to 2/14?

(I'm new to option and it's my first post here. Thanks a bunch for all your help! you all for the help!)

2. ajacobson

ajacobson

The first question does AAPL allow hedging? It's a mix some firms do and some don't.
    If hedging is permitted it generally must be done in the same account as it doesn't provide good hedging vehicle because as you point out it is restricted.
    The firm that has the brokerage deal with AAPL(Sometimes more than one) will show the employee some legal solutions and time periods when hedging can be done.
    What if I want to ignore all that and go out and hedge it myself? Depends on AAPL policy and assuming you don't get into trouble you'll need to do a hedge that doesn't require the RSU capital.
    Have them ask their HR department as to what, if any hedging. is allowed and does the clock start from the time of the offer.