Heating Oil spreads

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by actionzip54, May 8, 2013.

1. I am fairly new to spread trading but not trading in general.

I'm starting to get interested in getting long some Heating Oil bull spreads as I think there is going to be an increase in demand in the front months.

Anyone else here trade heating oil spreads.

I am currently long the Jun13-Aug13 spread at 24 and will be adding to gains if I can realize them.

2. so your basically taking a long position in the underlying selling front month calenders?

3. Essentially yes.

4. I'm assuming more demand is going to come into the market and create a backwardation. The underlying could rise and I can still lose money. It's still a relative value bet, but yes typically this spread will gain if you get a rise in the price of the commodity.

5. i get it.. by why not offset the risk with a long calender in the next expiration? i wanna watch this trade with you.. i'm sort of new to futures.. been looking at ng and cl... i'm in a bear spread in cl now.. super small ..

6. [​IMG]

7. What chart is that? That is not the spread I'm in and it doesn't look like the Jun13 outright.

I know you where in NG I saw you where long a call butterfly. Personally NG looks like a possible short tomorrow on the outright and for the near future although I wouldn't intiate a intermediate term short here. I'm also bullish CL but dont have posistion and I think a close above 97 on the June would def make me start to lean bullish and look for a Higher Low to confirm.

I am, however, the most bullish on RB and HO and will probably put on a Jun-Aug RB spread tommorrow as well if the price action is right.

GL with your trades and I am also only long a 1 lot on my HO trade which is lol small but whatever I'm not going to light money on fire when I know how to trade outrights and I'm just starting to learn and get comfortable with the spreads.

8. I also like ZL, Soybean Oil, as well.