Health Insurance

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by trdr_2000, Dec 21, 2004.

1. Just thought I'd pass this along.

If any of you are buying health insuarance through your clearing firm or a private insurer check out the National Association of the self employed.

It's much cheaper than the other alternatives.

Hope it helps somebody.

2. Are you referring to MegaLife insurance through the NASE? Are they using someone else?

I have used them for 2 years. I didn't have to file any claims with them and they provide group rates for the association. I ended up canceling because of a class action suit against MegaLife and very poor claim record.

3. garyk

garyk

I have no experience with NASE, but recall seeing an article a couple of years ago stating that NASE is not so much an association as it is a sales arm of one particular insurance company - apparently it was started by the insurance company, and does not have many other actual functions or benefits of membership other than the insurance. I did find this current article:

http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/04_37/b3899076_mz021.htm

Were I hunting for insurance, I'd check eHealthInsurance.com and talk to at least a couple of independant agents who represent multiple companies.

4. I never used them, I had it through my clearing firm.

A friend of mine who owns his own landscaping company has a family plan and he was paying the same for him, his wife and his kid as I was paying for just me.

He never had any problems and his wife gave birth as well.

5. bullrat

bullrat