Health Insurance in N.J. ??

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by TraderBob, May 4, 2002.

1. Am looking for a new carrier for health insurance for myself and family (3 people). Aetna, my present carrier, is upping the annual cost from $7,416 to 10,296 or 38% increase !! They claim their costs have gone up. With an average of 4 doctor's visits a year, I figure this is over $2,500 a visit !! N.J. seems to be among the highest states for all types of insurance.

I have checked with Costco and Sam's Club but they do not offer group health insurance. I know that some prop firms offer group health insurance but I am not a prop trader and don't plan on going prop anytime in the near future.

Any leads would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. trdrmac

trdrmac

TraderBob,

Without knowing what your situation is, like having a child that requires a lot of medical attention etc I will make a general recommendation. If your family is fairly healthy the new Medical Savings Accounts for self employed people let you take a policy with 1200 - 2500 deductible and fund that into a Medical Savings account. So the first 1200-2500 of expenses would be paid out of your pocket with tax-free money from the MSA. 60% of the premiums are deductible against your income since you are self employed.

I think you will find just by funding the first 2500 in risk yourself you will save a ton of money on premiums which could be used to put into the MSA. For instance I have a policy with Mutual Of Omaha with a Million Dollar Cap and a 10K deductible. I pay about $500 a year.

You may want to look at a Quotesmith.com or one of the insurance sites. Golden Rule, Time, John Alden and a few others have decent major medical coverage that is reasonably priced.