Having trouble focusing at my day job

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Smart Money, Nov 6, 2009.

1. This is real, and is not bragging.

I'm a swing trader. I have a day job, and at night I do my analysis. I've been getting good at T.A., and a couple weeks ago, I had a "Eureka Moment" for a set-up for swing trades. I have back-tested it and it works better than my greatest expectations. At face value, it seems sound too. I've only been using it a couple of weeks, but it's been spot on, and I've been making good money.

OK, here's where I'm having trouble. Whether I actually do "make it big" or fall flat on my face, I'm having trouble living and working in the now. I believe wholeheartedly that in a couple years (plus or minus), I'll be able to retire while I'm still kind of young....Ok...middle aged.

I can't seem to get any work done now. I'm obsessing over this, and I've viewing what I do in my day job as so trivial that I'm not doing the best job that I can for my clients.

Any recommendations for staying focused? I'm going to get fired or something and I just can't afford that right now.

SM

2. Sometimes you just got to man up. I ran a business for a couple years before selling it, which means I had to show up on time to open the doors, turn off the alarm, and let in the customers. Worked 6 days per week, no real vacations, kind of sucked. I still did swing trading at night. If you need the job, then just focus and stop day dreaming. Think of it as a test to succeed in trading, to succeed long term you need to develop the control now.

Set a goal for yourself and reward. For example, you will focus for the next 3 weeks and save up money to reward yourself with a vacation.

3. Smart Money, its easy to see why you can't concentrate while working your day job. Your mind is focusing more and more on your trading. As my sister( PHD psycologist) and her husband(PHD neurologist) explained to me this a few yrs ago: