Have you quit your other job to trade?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by canadian_dude, Feb 7, 2003.

1. I wondered how many people started trading e-mini's while still working at another job NOT related to trading. But due to their success as a trader, they no longer work at anything else besides trading.

As for myself, I quit working at anything else as of January 2003, all I do now is trade.

2. you must be pretty damn stupid.

3. why ??

4. jester

jester Guest

..Im thinking the same thing too "Why not?" ..here in the Silicon Valley... I cannot find any "other" work was constantly getting laid off... had absolutely NO job security???, I quit a job, (the only POS job I could get) I absolutely despised and was daily asked to do illegal things at, (such as lie about their services)....

I have never been happier since I made that decision, I've been trading for real after 2 months of sitting next to my mentor and have had 3 straight profitable days, will I succeed long term? I have no idea, I try to live "one day at a time"......have I ever been happier or more fulfilled (in a career)- unequivocally NO!

I'm very happy with the firm I choose and the decision I made to finally fulfill my passion.

J-

5. bobcathy1

bobcathy1 Guest

Both Bob and I needed a new way to make a living since we have medical problems and our old jobs were physically exerting. So rather than go on permanent disability from Uncle Sam, we have been trading.
    Too bad we did not find out about this years ago!
    The tuition was HUGE, but now it is paying off for us.
    We will realize our dream of cruising in our boat....stopping to trade for a year when we need money.

PS....we still each work about 10 hours a week at our old jobs. We are the only people who do what we do for 150 miles. I do electrolysis and Bob is a greenhouse builder.....Can't leave friends in the lurch.

6. excellent jester , i wish you all the best !!!!!

surfer:cool: