Have You Been Here? Need Your Wisdom

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Pondering Man, Aug 22, 2011.

1. This is my first post obviously. I need your help and wisdom. I am a small business owner and am in the process of selling my company. I’m in my mid 40’s with a beautiful wife and 2 beautiful kids.

Here’s the issue: the proceeds from the sale are not enough to retire comfortably and I’m left with no single avenue to support the family after the sale. I have an undergrad in Finance and an MBA and good industry (non-investment field related) experience but I detest the very idea of re-entering the corporate world. My wife is highly desirious of me working for The Man and I can see her point, as it provides a safety net. And so herein lies the conundrum.

So what I’m really getting at is: have any of you been in a similar situation (ie, midlife with retirement savings in progress but not quite there yet and needing to find a source of income)? I have been reading ET for a while as well as reading books on trading but am not a trader nor have I ever traded. I know all the failure statistics yet see myself as having most of the core competencies of a trader: analytical, passionate, hardworking, willing to put in the time/effort, realizing this is a business and not a hobby, etc, etc. Have any of you made the switch to trading mid career and are successful in relative terms? My family and I could live off the monies from the sale for a year or so easily while I continue to prepare myself for trading.

Oh, and a big point: my wife would want at least some degree of assurance that trading could bring in incremental income over and above what I could obtain merely by investing.

If not trading, is there any other type of investing you would recommend if you were in my shoes? Swing trading? Anything else?

Thanks so much for your constructive feedback.

2. bone

bone

Anything you risk in the market, any capital you use to start an account - consider it gone.