Have I just been lucky?

Discussion in 'Options' started by nln1972, Feb 9, 2019.

1. nln1972

nln1972

So here's the spread I've been doing for just over 2 years now:

- Identify 10-20 stocks where the 2 S.D. put is close to a support level
    - Sell a weekly put for each stock, one week out, typically for ~$0.40 (usually a 95%+ win rate)
    - Depending on the stock this can be between 5-15% OTM
    - Buy the ~$0.05 put for protection (this has been hit 11 times in ~1500 trades)
    - Collect the ~$0.35 premium

I keep running the max loss scenarios and it still seems to be an acceptable risk, given the probabilities.

IB margin reqs for options this far out are usually pretty much the same as margin req. for the underlying stock, so I would be OK if every stock was assigned.

I can't help but feeling that I've just been lucky but even the Feb 18 crash didn't dent performance. The stats on the trades have played out pretty much as you'd expect but still the performance is great: +37% in Yr1 and +29% in Yr2.

Have I just been lucky?!?

Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
    Epicurus likes this.
  2. One thing any trader should remember is trading with real account is different world...I am afraid.

Untill you fig out market characteristics and find ways to utilise them, it will be very hard. Statistical findings from very limited data mean very little...

3. nln1972

nln1972

I wasn’t clear sorry. This is my real account ($90k).

I also keep a separate account for a collection of ETF’s, ring-fenced outside of IB.

4. Nice! You have fund to trade. Do you work for a fund company?

It is worth note that Most stocks (those held by institutions) will go up persistently after February until around this time next year. GL

5. Maverick1

Maverick1

Market has been generally trending up for the past 2 years, with the exception of Feb 18 and late 2018 selloffs. If you isolated the trades from those periods, how did they do?