Has ET reached the Tipping Point?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Xspurt, Sep 23, 2012.

1. ET has been allowed to shift from a forum where traders could discuss trading to more of an animal house where a great deal of the posts are about how useless trading or various techniques are. I have no idea why they are here or why they are allowed to continue.

If a trading thread is started up eventually it will be trashed until the poster sees no point in continuing.

I regret to say that as a trader I observed the developing trash trend and expected a drop off in posting. At the same time I have been watching another paid-for forum where this kind of activity is banned and seeing how the fee-based membership soared compared to the free anything goes Elite Non-Trader.

Today there is a jump in activity "over there" with 6 times as many members and 60% as many guests online compared to ET. I've noticed a steady decline in posting here as the competition leaves us standing and now the ET posts are hardly moving the front page. It takes some complacency for a free forum to be overtaken by a fee-based membership when the content is provided by the membership, but ET has achieved that loss of momentum.

Have we reached the Tipping Point for ET? Is it too late to get back to Elite Trading content?

Does anyone care?

(The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (ISBN 0-316-31696-2) is a book by Malcolm Gladwell, first published by Little Brown in 2000.

Gladwell defines a tipping point as "the moment of critical mass, the threshold, the boiling point."[1] The book seeks to explain and describe the "mysterious" sociological changes that mark everyday life. As Gladwell states, "Ideas and products and messages and behaviors spread like viruses do.)

2. over 90% of the members here talk about subject matter thats worth less than garbage itself...

3. are you referring to bigmike....

4. BMT rules.......:D