Has anyone ever gone through this?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by PENS WIN, Jun 13, 2009.

1. PENS WIN

PENS WIN

Ok, so basically i want to write exactly what is going through my head, (my life story) and see if anyone has ever experienced something similar and see how to get over the hurdle.

I started trading when i was 21, as a side job to going to university. I always wanted to learn about the markets, and when the opportunity arose to become a day trader i jumped all over it. I basically knew going in that the hypothetical income the trading company i started with was bullshit as i started out prop and no one inside my firm was making money. Anyways i made, what i now deem to be a poor decision, however let me tell you how it all began.

Basically i started out and six months in i was already better than every trader within our "branch" inside the firm. There were other traders making huge money at other "branches," and that was always what i aspired to be. To make a long story short i was making roughly 10k a month after the first 6 months then after a year i hit pay dirt, i figured out a strategy i could make 100k a month at (only 50% was mine.) Well i managed to make about 200k, take home, over the next few months. Then my strategy failed in a big way. Not only did my day trading strategy fail but i also fucked away all of the rewards from the previous few months in a personal trading account, way over leveraged.

The next few years i dealt with tax problems as the IRS wanted a piece of that 200k, and i had fucked it all away(in my trading account), so the next few years was spent catching up. Anyways, most recently i finally found a strategy, which i have kept meticulous records on, that appears to be maximized and extremely consistent