Has anybody ever done a surf school/camp?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by ChkitOut, Feb 24, 2010.

1. I want to learn to surf this summer. After a quick search online I see that costa rica has a bunch of schools/camps offering 7 day packages and what not.

Just wondering if anybody ever did anything like this..?

2. I have been surfing for 20 years.

You will have fun...get tired and maybe get hooked. But your not going to get more than that out of a 7 day school. The learning curve is STEEP. You may get up in a "stink bug" stance and go straight in the white water for a second but as for really surfing...well your gonna need alot of love and discipline to get to a point where a session is more pleasure than pain.

That being said...if you get hooked. Welcome to the club and stay out of my way KOOK! :D

3. you ever surf the pipe

my wave!...my wave!!....MY WAVE!!!! :D

4. Nope. Those guys are in another realm. Did go to Maui and Kauai, but never Oahu.

Born and bred eastcoaster. Biggest I can surf effectively is about 8-10 feet. Its enough to get my blood moving. But I really prefer 4-6 feet...its really fun and no stress at all.

5. bronks

bronks

It's not the pipe. Just pipe... as in: "You ever surf pipe?"
    Get it right!