Has anybody actually profitted from a 5k deposit prop??

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by kungfutrader, Aug 1, 2009.

1. I'm just curious because I'm a beginner and have yet to profit. Has anyone actually made a living off of that? I mean isn't it kind of tough to make a living off of that in my opinion. And has anyone been with their prop for more than 2 years with just profits after profits? Just curious and would like to hear from honest people who won or loss from a 5k prop.

2. With 5k, you can have access to anywhere from 250k to 1 million intraday, which is more than enough to make a living. Of course, that implies that one trades profitably in the first place.

3. ammo

ammo

as a re beginner, i went thru 11k,5k,8k,5k,....til i eventually figured it out,i would have been better off sim trading for 2 yrs , what i learned was which info to use , when to sit on my hands and never to ride losers(still learning that one), it takes a while to learn that. Most new traders start out with zero tools in the box and havent a chance. I hope you are ready.

4. bstay

bstay

if you can get a 20:1 leverage (which they cannot advertise), then 5K is about $100K intraday buying power. this is equivalent to regular brokerage with 4:1 PDT rules requiring min $25K capital.

as your account grows, assuming you are consistently profitable, the initial 5K risk deposit will grow and as it grow, the 10:1 or 20:1 buying power will increase as well. you get more leverage.

$5K is the min deposit. to really make money you need to deposit alot more to take advantage of the high leverage (10:1, 20:1) and very low commissions the prop gives you.

5. It can be done.

6. bstay

bstay