Hardware Upgrade Advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by smalltrader35, Sep 14, 2005.

1. Hi Traders,

I have been running the same hardware set up since 2001 and I am now looking to upgrade. My current set up is listed below. I use PC 1 soley for trading purposes (Nasdaq Equities and Eminis).
    I use PC 2 for a back up, news vendors, web pages & email. What type of modern day hardware set up would the pro's on this board advise? Should I be looking to just update the Processor's, Ram, Hard Drive or should I go for a complete overhaul. I use ZoneAlarm Pro on both machine with a Zyxel Router that uses SUA, (Single User Account) Zyxel's own form of NAT. I do not use a hardware firewall. I use the usual Anti Virus
    and Sypware Software plus Prevx Pro 2005 Intrusion Detection software on both machines. I here of guys using Dual Core Processors, DDR 2 Ram, Hard Drives running at 10,000 rpm, Radeon Express Cards etc so can the traders here on Elite
    advice on what they would do from here. Should I upgrade to a Hardware Firewall in conjuction with the hardware upgrade. If so what recommendations do you guys have? Finally I need to purchase a new copy of Windows XP Pro SP2. Where on the net can I purchase a genuine copy without the 400Euro plus price I have to pay where I live. I would be gratefull for any help on this upgrade.

PC Number 1

1 Advent P4 1.7G
    1G RAM
    2*AppianX Quad Cards
    2*40G Hard Drives
    Windows XP Pro SP2

PC Number 2
    1 Advent P4 1.7G
    512 MB RAM
    1 AppianX Quad Card
    1 40G Hard Drive
    Windows XP Pro SP2

2. gnome

gnome

Stay with what you have.... You already have enough RAM, fast enough CPU, and the correct OS.