Half of solving a problem is formulating it

Discussion in 'Options' started by Aquarians, May 2, 2020.

1. My last post on the options forum went south so lemme try another one, hopefully with different results.

I've some experience with options, mathematics and programming. In reverse order as enumerated :p Lately I've refactored the self-made software I was using to backtest trading strategies (with options, that's why I post in the options forum) and in the process caught some bugs and got some new ideas. Damn having a reliable system is hard, when you support thousands of use cases (underliers) and "bugfixing" experience looks exactly like updates on your phone: fix a thing with one underlier and have dozen others fail, while previously they were working just fine.

Therefore I'm relaxing my demands on the system from "top-notch handling of everything" to "top-notch handling of something". Especially when there's enough liquidity in "something", like maybe 100-1000x every other crappy thing.

So I'm concentrating on a few high liquidity use cases and noticed the following. I'm busting my head at the moment to produce a solution for a trading problem which is probably already solved, but:
    1) Googling for it doesn't yield results, neither immediate nor after lots of digging.
    2) I can't just go on Wilmott or some quant forum and ask "how do you solve this crap?" because in trading 99% of the edge that you have is formulating the damn problem. Solving it afterwards it's indeed "simple".