Hacking questions

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by bestfriend, Jan 22, 2008.

1. There was an unauthirzed entry into my house. Nothing was taken. The dog was locked in an upstairs bedroom. How would I find out if a: keystroke logging software has been installed and is being transmitted or 2) mu info is being remottely accessed by a device placed on the connection outsiide the house. There was a weird workman's truck sitting outside my house today. I am worried about password theft. I live in a very expensive area and had a lot of bank statements lying around the office for online accounts.

2. Well, for #1, you can do a system restore to a date before the break in.

3. I just did this, & all my info. came just from reading online, so this is just basic stuff...I'm not too technical.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,116573-page,7/article.html
    http://security.resist.ca/keylog.shtml

Keystroke loggers can be hardware or software.

To check for the hardware, just look at the keyboard wire where it attaches to the computer & see if there is a cylinder there. Check the rest of keyboard too, underneath etc.

To check for the software, you can check all of the running processes. (Close as many applications as you can first.) I did this by opening task manager & the internet. Then for each process I didn't recognize, which was all but a couple, type in the name of the process to google. Most of the descriptions will be "microsoft process" (if you are running XP etc.). If it is a virus or spyware it will say.

Good luck.

4. Look at this...

http://www.securetactics.com/monitor

The scariest part is that it can supposedly be installed remotely.
    Does anyone have any experience with these types of programs ??? Does it really do all it claims for $80 ???
    Thanks for any info.

5. Manni

Manni

That sounds like a good plan.

Although that wont remove files in user directories.