GUI and app location

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by toolbox, May 15, 2009.

1. toolbox

toolbox

For those of you that have built your systems and aren't using ninjatrader or tradestation, what have you used as you GUI? MFC, WinForms, ASP.Net, WPF?

Also do any of you host your applications on a VPS or run it locally?

2. hosted and locally. MFC... not big fan of it though, but since the GUI doesn't rank high on the list of importance for me, I never get around to swapping it out.

3. locally and C++/MFC.

Daniel

4. toolbox

toolbox

I'm new to trading systems and still doing alot of research at the moment. I have decided to build the system from scratch if/when i start and not use any existing platforms, some might say this is re-inventing the wheel but i believe this will give me total control over my system and i can extend it as i please plus go back and optimize stuff in areas that will need improving. If i get nothing out of this system atleast i will have refined my coding skills after years of working on this.

I've thought to myself that if i had a system i would want easy access to it from anywhere so i assume a web based system hosted on a vps is the answer using probably asp.net/silverlight or wpf/e.

5. Toolbox,
    These were more or less the same reasons why I start my app some years ago. Now I’m at a point that I can think on new features and improve function. It’s working for me and I’m happy that I have done it – although it was surely re-inventing the wheel. But that was never an issue for me not to start with the development.

6. bidask

bidask

hey are you still using a sundial to tell time? abacus to do math? :)

7. Working on it right now - first little steps, as I have a "day job" that takes most of my time at the moment (crunch time in a software project, another 4 weeks to go).