GS Call Spread

Discussion in 'Options' started by Mike805, May 14, 2013.

1. Hi Guys,

I'm still learning the ropes with options and I have a question regarding a current position. A couple weeks ago I purchased a GS July 19th Call spread (145 @ $6/ 155 @ 2.35). The position cost me $3.65. The current value of the spread is 11.25/5.15 or +$6.10. GS is trading at 154 so I would expect this spread to be closer to $9. I bought the spread during higher vol (not that high though), but, I was expecting more. Is there still too much time value in the 155 call? What am I missing here?

Thanks,
    Mike

2. 1) You're expecting "too much", "too fast". :cool:
    2) You need more passage of time, volatility decline and price advance for the spread to be ~$9 at this time. :)
    3) The 155-call is practically at-the-money so it's value will be near a recent maximum. :eek:
    4) I don't follow GS. Do they have a pending earnings release soon that is keeping option premiums firm in the interim? :confused:

3. A vertical doesn't open up to its full value until very close to expiration, or when it is deep-in-the-money. Because you bought a July vertical, there is too much time value left given the volatility of the underlying. If you had bought a May vertical (3 days to expiry), you would see the characteristics you were expecting from a July one (66 days to expiry). Currently the 145/155 GS May call spread is 8.40 mid.

4. Thanks for the replies. Good info.

I was under the incorrect assumption that upside vol would help this position more than what I see now...

Given this info about max. value near expiry, it doesn't make sense for me to hold this spread any longer since 60+ days of time risk is working against me (price has a lot of time to drop back down).

Any suggestions on how to identify vert spreads with better potential going forward - a cheap spread versus an expense one?