Greetings

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by brown, Jan 6, 2008.

1. brown

brown

Hello everyone, My name is Daniel and I live in NC. I have been a lurker on the boards for a while and finally decided to make an account and start contributing to the board. I just wanted to drop in and introduce myself. I have not yet started trading as I have little time, money and experience but I feel I am finally ready to start. After reading numerous books, spent months on different boards trying to learn as much as I can before I start putting real money at stake I found ET to be most knowledgeable as far as other communities and look foward to being a member here. Here is my situation, and I take all the advise given so please, feel free to respond with whatever you feel I might need to know or anything.

I am starting off with $300, and will contribute $300 each month. I know its not much but I am not looking to make huge returns. I am looking to not LOSE money. So what I was looking to start with were either ETFs or options, and I understand options would not be the first choice for most new investors, but I feel they are not as difficult to understand as they look. Any advise will be greatly appreciated! Thanks again,

D

2. First of all let me congratulate you on spelling "LOSE" correctly. That's a good sign.

You probably know this, but I believe that you need at least 2000 to trade - some brokers require more. Of course, to have some cushion and flexibility, I would suggest starting with more, say, 5-10K.

I agree with you that options are not as hard to understand as people make it. Consistently making money with options isn't easy - but for me, generally it's easier than just trading the underlying. I suggest that you become familiar with various option strategies, especially simple spreads to get a feel for the option game.