Greeks

Discussion in 'Options' started by straddle_me, Jul 6, 2005.

1. I know the definition of all the greeks backwards and forwards (I think!). I don't fully understand the lingo though.

What does it mean when a trader says he is long/short gamma? All the definitions say that if you're long options, you're long gamma. So why not say you're long options??? Why 'long gamma'? What do they hope to happen in the market when long gamma - big moves, right?

More specifically, when they say long $2M gamma, what does that mean? Same thing for vega? What happens to position when long $2M gamma and mkt moves 1 point on underlying?

How does another person know what strike option they are holding, or how many they have, etc...?

Basically, I'm new to a trading floor and don't want to ask the traders I'm talking to...so I'll have a bunch more questions forthcoming!!!

2. Choad

Choad

Being long gamma can mean just long options, for example, but most traders have many combos of ops/stocks/futs going on. So it can mean a net long gamma position.

Like when a trader is looking for a big move down in a stock but wants to protect/profit from a big upside surprise, he might short 1000 shares of stock and buy 20 calls.

Long gamma in this case would allow you to profit on a big drop, or rise, without the added theta and b/a cost of long puts in an option straddle.

3. Gamma and theta are the greeks that traditionally oppose each other.

When you are long gamma, you are saying you need the market to move to make money. That is, as stated previously, you are long options.

If you buy an OTM call or put and the market doesnt move, kiss your premium goodbye. You were long gamma and it didnt pay out.

Typically(but not always), if you are long gamma, you are short theta.

Short theta means time is working against you.

In a nutshell Long Gamma = You need a directional move before your contract expires to make money.

Short options typically means short gamma, long theta.