Government's unpayable debts?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by vrothenberg, Jun 12, 2009.

1. It looks like the U.S. government keeps borrowing money from foreign investors with no intent or ability to pay it back.

My question is: how would I capitalize on this notion? Would I short bonds? T-bills? I'm relatively new to trading so I'm not aware of all the nuances and intricacies of the loan market. But it seems logically impossible for the U.S. to keep this up forever. The only way I can see this as not happening is for Congress to balance the budget (which is impossible for the next few years under Obama's 'rescue' plan) or China keeps lending indefinitely.

Have investors already reached a consensus on this?

2. what about O's pay as you go plan???

--

now for every minute you talk on the pay as you go plan, 30% of the fees charged on your account will be donated to non profit organizations that are active in fighting testicular cancer, go green now, help save animals specially household dogs by coloring your balls green so your dog stays away from licking them

3. From Obama's pay as you go plan on MSNBC as of June 9: "The House and Senate already have their own PAYGO rules, but have routinely found ways around them. For example, a bill to effectively double GI Bill education benefits was enacted last year because of a loophole in congressional rules."

Wow, I laughed way too much at that.

4. how can you not have faith in O's plans

---

wtf, it wasn't supposed to be funny, I'm just sick of all the stupid nonsense they put together to push the meaningless 'go green' shit

5. I'd like to see the criteria for "Going Green". Of course that's impossible, cuz it's just like a degree in Education.

6. Buy TBT.