gotta_trade's scalping journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by gotta_trade, Dec 19, 2002.

1. Hi everyone,

I have been itching to start a journal for sometime now. So, here it is.

I have been trading for 8 years. I exclusively trade listed stocks. Once and a while I will trades the SPY's and the QQQ's.

I have always been profitable. Although, it has been extremely difficult for me to make money since the summer of 2001. I still continue to be profitable, just relatively small profits. The lack of momentum and decimalization has made scalping difficult. But, I can still grind out a living. I have to stick with what I know. Although, I continuously try to adapt and learn new methods, as long as they are "somewhat" similar to mine.

On average, I usually trade 50,000 to 150,000 shares per day. The market has been relatively quiet lately, so my trading has been on the lighter side. When the market presents opportunity, I usually trade around 150,000 to 250,000 shares each day.

I will post my P+L at the end of the day. I believe that other scalpers can appreciate this.

So, I hope this journal will be beneficial to others. I also hope that it helps me. Maybe we all can learn something??

Good Trading to everyone,
    gotta_trade

2. I look forward to reading your journal...

3. axehawk

axehawk

Hey Gotta,

Where do you trade? I assume prop because retail (even with IB) would way too expensive with your style.

I have heard that this style (large size scalping of NYSE big caps) is not working very well anymore. Maybe you need to focus harder on adjusting to something new?

Good luck!

Axe

4. gotta trade,

I hope you will include some explanations about what you are doing, as P and L alone is a bit boring. I know you can't detail 75 scalp trades each day, but maybe take us through a few good ones and bad ones.

5. MIDDAY UPDATE:

+982 before commissions, +429 after