Got Yaho and MSFT Call/Put options - what to do?!

Discussion in 'Options' started by rktest05, May 4, 2008.

1. rktest05

rktest05

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to option trading (have been trading options for the last 20 days or so).

Here is my situation.

Last week, I bought

1) 10 contracts of YAHOO June 08, $27.50 strike put at $0.41
    2) 10 contracts of YAHOO May 08, $27. 50 strike call at $2.45

3) 10 contracts of MSFT May 08, $28.00 strike put at $0.30
    4) 10 contracts of MSFT June 08, $28.00 strike call at $2.20

Now that the Yahoo-Microsoft deal did not go thru, I'm just wondering what is the best
    way to sell all the options to get the most amout of profit.

Should i sell all the options on Monday or wait?

I can also consider exercising the options
    if need be.

Thanks a bunch for your help.

2. Sell your profitable legs, or at least take -some- profits, let your unprofitable legs open. There's still potential for 'change of minds' next week.

I myself have a bunch of may and jun msft calls (30 and 32 strike), and have a much smaller yahoo partial strangle/iron condor: long may 25s, short may 20s (on the put side), and long the may 32.5 calls (not covered). long a tad of yhoo stock. I'll be lucky to break even on the yhoo side of the trade, but msft should prove profitable. I will be selling at least half of my microsoft position at open if the move is substantial enough, and will do the same on the put side of the yhoo transaction. If yhoo opens low enough (below 20), i may considering adding a tad to the stock position, but its a small stock position. no use in selling here - the downside from $20 is maybe $5 at most. If in the off chance microsoft came out with an offer at $25 next week, there's still value in yhoo if bought below 20.

3. YHOO's going to tank on monday, MSFT should go up a couple points.

I'd say sell everything.