Gordon Gekko

Discussion in 'Trading' started by naz9403, Aug 8, 2006.

1. naz9403

naz9403

Question for all the equity experts out there.

I lean toward currencies and futures myself and as a young trader i still have an absolutely enormous amount of information to absorb still.

I have a vague understanding of what gordon gekko did in the movie. Used illegal information to perform hostile takeovers to liquidate companies for profit. I'm sure many of you will have a laugh for my misunderstanding of the world of equities and big money take overs but can anyone out there clarify what exactly he did and if it's possible to do it legally?

I just would like to learn what other ways people make money in the equities business besides pure price action speculation.

2. DannoXYZ

DannoXYZ

Technically, Gecko didn't do anything illegal. Insider-trading is a regulatory issue, not criminal. The most that can happen is he ends up getting fined a huge amount and have his license suspended by the SEC.

It's actually the Bud as an officer in the company that violated the rules by divulging confidential information about the company's future plans.

3. Cheese

Cheese

The intended message of the film didn't work .. the folly of vulgar greed to be rich. The film was far better than that message.

The Gordon Gekko character demystifies making money .. at its fastest. Thats right .. he demystifies making money.

The film shows unintentionally how people in general imprison themselves .. greed for security first, greed to be part of the ground swell but not to be somebody above and beyond the rest, greed for more hope when it already doesn't work, greed for the mundane over the superior.
    :)

4. naz9403

naz9403