Good careers for retired traders

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by sstamboulie, May 9, 2009.

1. I am a career coach and have two clients who are former traders (they were traders at companies, not trading for themselves). For one of them, his type of trading disappeared because of automation, and the other feels he is too old to get another job in trading for various reasons. I have had some suggestions, but I'd love to hear some ideas from traders who know people who have been there. What are some of the careers that former traders go into after they retire? I figure some of you veterans must have some retired friends. . . Thanks.

2. 1) Each of those guys may have never really been a "trader" to begin with.
    2) They need to develop a "business owner" mentality instead of an "employee" mentality.
    3) If they are techology-phobiacs, they could merely be passive investors if they have deep-enough pockets.
    4) If they made the effort to develop a trading strategy and became more familiar with computers/software, they could actually become "traders" and not waste their time with people like you.

3. Nazz I think the OP was inquiring about what non-trading careers former traders gravitate to.

It depends upon their skill set and interests.

4. You may be correct. The unfortunate thing is that a lot of former traders don't have transferable skills to the rest of the world. In a job interview, the interviewer will never understand nor respect trading. Can you imagine going to college for 2-to-4 years when you are in your 40's or 50's..... Yick! That should be motivation to remain with trading or retire completely and not waste your "golden years" in the work-a-day world. :cool:

5. That's my motivation bro. My skills would place me somewhere between telemarketer and limo driver.....

6. MGJ

MGJ