Gonna jump; need advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Guerilla, May 29, 2002.

1. Guerilla

Guerilla

I’m gonna take the plunge from the warm (in)security of an 8-6 job into the cold waters of trading. I’d appreciate all your questions, answers and comments.

A little background. I’m not a complete newbie – I’ve been in involved with the trading business for almost 20 yrs. I now work for a major hedge fund in risk management for a salary well into six figures, so there’s some opportunity cost involved. I have a good academic background with an Ivy League MBA (not saying that’ll help with trading).

I traded for myself at a day trading firm in ’98 for about 4 months (Cybertrader platform) before being lured away by a job offer I couldn’t turn down. Now I can. I plan to initially trade 1-3 markets/equities with accounts funded with $100-$200K probably using TS6, IB, FfastTrade or other alternatives.

I’d like to find out more about the following:

- should I consider a prop firm first?
    - does anyone use two machines with software from a single vendor on both as a backup. And DSL as a backup to cable?
    - how are fills in other relatively liquid ETFs other than QQQs (e.g. SMH)

That’s all for now – I’m sure I’ll have more later.

Thanks for your replies.

2. "I now work for a major hedge fund in risk management for a salary well into six figures, so there’s some opportunity cost involved. I have a good academic background with an Ivy League MBA (not saying that’ll help with trading). "
    a guy would have to be nuts to give up 6 figure job for trading unless you already have enough to live on.the odds are against you in this market.
    another idea.keep job trade longer term or other markets.you can trade futures almost 24 hours now you know.

3. you'd be crazy to give up a six figure job... if you're so smart you should design systems that could trade stocks/futures WHILE you earn those six figures.

just my $.02

4. carlp

carlp