Gold Market

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by gartley222, Nov 9, 2003.

1. :D I was looking to talk about the gold market and how it has been rising so much. I have been studying it for a few years now and it seems to be the best place to put money in at the moment. If anyone is into the bullish gold market as well please feel free to contact me with questions, perspectives,knowledge and good chit chat as well. I also have work to share if anyone is interested.

2. Check our existing thread on NXG. There is good info there.

3. I did some work looking into gold.

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?
    s=&threadid=23790

I must say that the more I dig into gold, the more I feel that the gold story is more complicated than most people make it out to be.

Gold has a diminishing role to play in the future monetary arena, that much is certain, so it is difficult to make a long term bullish argument for gold.

However it does have a strong put floor as an asset of last resort, esp with recent instituitional memory of LTCM, Russian debt crisis, asian currency crisis and NASDAQ bubble crash.

So my personal thesis is gold at $450 is quite possible, given that we are trading out of a 20 year bear market that bottomed out around $250. That would be nearly a double.

Gold at $600 is unlikely. There is too much of a gold supply overhang at the CB level (the Europeans have demonstrably less and less interest in holding gold as time passes, and unless Chinese and Japanese banks want to rotate out of T bills and into gold bullion, that will put a price cap on the market).

There are abt 140,000 tons of gold in the world. At $380/oz, that's $12.16MM per ton or $1700 BN for 140,000 tons.