Gold gold gold!

Discussion in 'Economics' started by jerry11901, Apr 8, 2007.

1. Most experts are screaming to buy gold. Dollar is expected to fall.
    But on the other side, the Canada, USA and South America are in the process of uniting.
    I am not an expert but, is it possible for thus countries to take the USD as the primary currency? Would that cause the gold fall and USD rise?

2. No.

But I am one of the few dollar bulls. The only reason why commodities have spiked is due to the massive liquidity available. Thanks to the FED post dot.com implosion.

The FED will be forced to tighten in the coming months. Bye bye gold, hello dollar.

Note, 99% of economists disagree with this. Perfect in my mind as they are always sheep.

3. Uniting? Do you really think they would want to hook their wagons to the fiscal lunacy going on here?

4. Ya , This gold rush looks dangers ,just check the COT ,commercial traders are dumping it for long time…

• gold.gif
      File size:
      19.5 KB
      Views:
  5. jerry,

Do you see how the blue line is rising? That's the commercials reducing their short position.

Note that the price of gold is rising as they reduce the short position.

What does that tell you?

6. jayford, you may be right, but if you are, it will be a dooozy of a recession, because of all the outstanding debt that the government, people, and corporations would need to pay that higher interest rate on.

Every 1% will add $90 billion per year to the Federal deficit just from interest expense, before taking into account another $200 to $400 billion per year in revenue loss if the country goes into a recession. Go back and look at the revenue drop from 1999 to 2001 or 2002 if you think me wrong. If the deficit isn't bad enough to scare you now, just imagine it $300+ billion higher every year. At what point do the foreigners not want to buy more and more bonds?