Going Full-time, please advise

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by venturerider2, Oct 28, 2007.

1. I am making a career change to full-time trading. I’ve traded on and off part-time in the last few years but have been unable to really focus on trading due to the demands of my current job/position. I’m working on changing that situation now and I’m looking for the optimal entry point into this business given my personal situation. I’ve read all the “prop vs. retail” posts but still have some questions. Here are the main points regarding my situation.

· Since I am just starting out as a trader, I would prefer not to work at home. I would rather go to an office and interface with other traders - preferably those who are experienced and dedicated. I would like to be around successful people who are doing well. I am in my 40’s and have succeeded in building other businesses. While I’m sure some of you have become successful on your own, I believe being around other traders could be a significant factor in my own learning curve (not to mention that I could not handle being around my wife’s honey-do’s, four kids, and a barking dog all day).

· I live in the New York City metro area (Long Island) so working anywhere in the city would be fine.

· Right now, I am less concerned about “excellent rates” and more concerned about learning from “excellent people” (but don’t get me wrong – I want competitive rates).

· I do not need a salary and am comfortable with a starting contribution of 50 K (if prop, assuming of course that I review and am comfortable with the financial health of the firm).

· I understand the benefits of prop vs retail (leverage, balance sheet risk vs SIPC insurance, data fees, series 7, interest on balances, etc., etc.) However, to me right now, as important as those things are, what is more important is learning how to trade well, finding the best type of trading that suits my personality, and developing a style.