GM Options

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by intrealm, May 29, 2009.

1. intrealm

intrealm

Hi there,

I am new to options and I was hoping that someone might comment on the risks of this position:

I bought 600 GM Puts June @ $1.00 for $0.60
    I bought 200 GM Calls June @ $2.00 for $0.10

I plan on buying another 400 Calls later on today, at around $0.03 because their price keeps going down, just in case that it won't get into bankruptcy.

I assume that the price would go drastically either up or down. If it stays the same, I understand that it won't be too good for me. I don't own the underlying GM stock. Would I be covered if the stock price moves to:
    a) below $0.60
    b) above $2.70

Thank you very much.

Regards,
    Ovi

2. Options are risky because you are betting on speculation. I suggest you do a lot more research before going out and trading a ton of options like you are asking. There are numerous strategies that investors use to generate additional capital on thier equities.

Trading options on GM in general is risky.

Good Luck

3. mililani

mililani

Going short or long GM is/was risky. Buying options is a way to limit your risk. I stuck with my thesis that GM is bankrupt more than 2 months ago. It's bankrupt now and people are still in denial: the puts are no longer available to trade as of today. However, I didn't want to short the equity on fear of what Obama would do. Hence, the best way to mitigate my risk was to go with puts. Even 2 months ago, when everyone knew that GM was heading towards bankruptcy, you could still get in on the puts with decent premiums. The potential return was 200%. Not as good as if you bought them 5 months ago, but still.

Don't risk more than 1-2% of your portfolio on options, unless you go with LEAPS and have strong conviction with your thesis. Also, don't straddle. It's a waste of money. Use options to hedge, or bet with leverage, but not to eek out small gains every so often.

4. mililani

mililani