Globex Terminal

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by shadowtrader, Apr 20, 2003.

1. I recently started trading the eminis thanks in large part to this board. I had not even considered futures until recently, but your posts opened my eyes to the advantages to the eminis. Previously, I had daytraded the ETF's so I just transferred my strategy to suit the emini's and it has been working great. Thank you all for your contributions.

I am trading enough contracts that getting a globex terminal might be a viable option in the near future. I have done a search on the subject, but have been unable to gather any opinions on the functionality of the order entry. How does it compare to using x-trader or j-trader?

Any other input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. Unless you live in or very near the Chicago area the main concern isn't order entry but access. First you have to be guaranteed by a clearing member of the CME. This guarantee process involves numerous background, capital, and registration checks you must pass before approval. In other words, if you aren't well known by CME member firms and can't pass the stringent requirements, trading success alone won't determine whether you deserve a terminal. Other than that, depending on the bandwidth you are using, cost of a connection ranges from $1,000 to $3,500 a month (as of last year, the most recent figures I have).

That's about all I know. Good luck.

Bruce :)

3. nitro

nitro

Bruce,

Is the cost of the connection more than just getting a PTP T1 from a provider, or are there other/additional CME fees that are involved? I guess what I am asking is, if you know, can you break down the costs as presented on an invoice?

nitro

4. A couple of weeks ago I came across this site:

http://www.globextrader.net/services.htm

(I have no affiliation with this site whatsoever)
    They offer their own platform, and also offer help in
    getting a direct Globex connection. What I am wondering