Globex Futures Order Book.

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by walterjennings, Jun 17, 2007.

1. I recently started trading some futures on globex, I noticed that during times of low liquidity, even if my limit order is the best price offered/asked and there is small amounts of volume going through (1-10 contracts every few min), I dont seem to be getting many fills.

Does anyone know much about the globex order book or where I could find information on how it works? I looked around the globex site with no luck on finding a description of their order book.

I believe my orders are the best price between 20-50% of the time in question, but I seem to be filling less than 1% of the volume during these times (sometimes i need to wait 60+min for a fill). I was wondering if the fact I am only offering/asking for 1 contract right now has a negative effect on my fills. Do traders offering orders of size 10 or 20 get to jump line in front of me and get filled first on globex?

Thanks

2. Some can queue up in front of (or behind ;-)) other participants.
    I am not sure that that happens after hours -- they have to be market makers and get that privelege for providing liquidity.

You can only say that something is wrong if, say,
    selling, you offer at 1450.00 and the offer becomes 1450.25 without getting a fill.

Here is a link about LMMs and TOP orders:
    http://www.cme.com/trading/get/abt/functionality/lmm.html

3. would it be possible to be part of the LMM program through IB? or would you need to be a member and trading directly on the exchange?

there is a pdf at the bottom of the link you posted. it lists all CME forex futures as 'F' or FIFO matching. would that mean that there is no LMM matching for them?

4. You didnt say which broker you use, but i presume IB from your last post.

Is your limit order shown as green or blue in TWS?