Global Futures - Any experiences?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by mm2mm, Aug 20, 2012.

1. mm2mm

mm2mm

Any experiences with them ?

Is it easy to open an account with them ?
    Do they accept lower income people(student here with part time job)?
    What are your commissions like if you don't mind me asking?

BQ - Do you know any other relatively big brokers for futures trading with low com, low es margin, doesn't need $10,000 to open an account?

Thanks.

2. I have been with global for a while. Their commissions are fairly low, but there are definitely lower commission brokers out there. I'm a swing trader and hold positions for days to weeks to months so I don't really mind if the commissions aren't the lowest.

I use thinkorswim for charting and use the turbo trader 2 platform (free) on global. I use global because they offer a lot of futures contracts not available for trading on thinkorswim or at other brokers.

Their customer service is great, they're very quick to answer emails/questions. All in all they're pretty solid and friendly to small accounts. They have some low day trading margins too- although I think someone starting out should stick to trading a single contract.

The only thing that I can point out negative about Global is that it can be a little buggy at times. A week ago I was trying to build a position in 6A and bought two contracts. The next day the platform only showed me long one contract, but the official account statements confirmed I was long two. In the end it was all sorted out but it's a little worrisome that it happened in the first place.

Another time I had an order in to short GC but decided to change my mind when I was away from my computer. I called them to cancel the order and they said there was no order in place. I might be getting old but I'm pretty sure I had this order in place. It was a GTC order so I know it didn't expire.

But those are the only two issues that I've had over a 3 year period with them.