Giving up is hard to do......

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by bobcathy1, Aug 25, 2004.

Are you quitting trading?

1. I quit trading.

10 vote(s)
    5.5%
  2. I am thinking of quitting.

41 vote(s)
    22.7%
  3. I am a break even trader.

37 vote(s)
    20.4%
  4. I make money trading.

93 vote(s)
    51.4%
  1. bobcathy1

bobcathy1 Guest

I had decided to give up day trading a month ago.

Along comes another guru who helps me a little than disappears. Today I am in the same place. Quitting day trading.

I think some people just don't get it no matter how hard they try. And I have tried so many things and read 100 books on the subject, dozens of tapes and millions of postings.

I read that all the great traders eventually lose all their money. I would rather stink in that case!

:(

I have to go back to work or I have to sell my boat. So now is a good time to chuck in the towel. It was a fun 4 years.....:eek:

2. sorry to hear that cathy... you learn anything from your experience? Were you just not able to follow your rules?

Andy

3. Most wash out after a few months. You hung in there for 4 years.

Admitting defeat is always the worst to live with.

There is a reason why more than 82% of traders wash out.

Good luck to you in whatever you did before you traded. :cool:

4. bobcathy1

bobcathy1 Guest

In the end, I followed them flawlessly. I have gotten very serious about trading in the last year.

The idea I use makes sense, but every system has drawbacks. Fading the extremes on a 2 minute chart just makes a lot of small trades. I did not take the first 3 points and held on for 10-30 which was the return to the 0 line. Worked for the first two signals, and I got killed on several fake outs for the 3rd one with the wide stops.

I just think I stink at scalping and I need to focus on larger trends.

5. Trend is your friend :D I go for larger trends myself... thought of scalping gives me the chills. Maybe I just don't know how it's done :)