Giving advice to others

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by jem, Oct 5, 2002.

1. jem

jem

I have recently been almost "attacked" by relatives (particularly Dad and and father law) about what to do with their investments. I had begged these people to get out just before the top partly because of my trading and partly because of things said by mark boucher, John Bogle and others research. However I have never wanted to manage others peoples accounts or even give specific advice because I am a trader and they are not.

However, these people and others do not want to go to just cash they want their money to work for them and most people do not know financial bull___ when they here it.

Here are my questions how do you find advisors who place people into investments that have good track records. I do not mean brokers at firms who stick a client' age and money and projected needs in to some crappy "designed by a faux noble prize winner" asset allocator that comes back and says to get 12 percent a year you need to be 40% big cap,30 percent value, 10 percent overseas and the rest bonds. That software is based on bogus theory. And it has 99 percent of the industry spitting out lies.

I mean I am looking for a person who has access to hedge fund guys and alternative investments who knows how to blend risk and has created diversified portfolios with nice sharpe ratios.

Where does one find these guys?

Secondly -- If I have to do the work myself where should I begin?

P.S. My father in law just retired and his highly recommended advisor feed him a bunch of junk and lost 10 percent in the first month.

P.S.S. I know this is a bit choppy but I had a few beers this evening when the conversation with my father in law came up after which I promised to help him out so this is where I begin.

2. right on :)