Getting Started

Discussion in 'Trading' started by jkortman, Aug 2, 2006.

1. jkortman

jkortman

When you decide to become a prop trader, you are deciding to embark on a career that would be similar to becoming a realtor, stock broker, or some other person that is chasing a hot independent profession, where your success is solely based on your performance. I'm new to this site, but I am a trader in my 3rd year. I am a prop trader, just trying to make a good living, something better than corporate because I did that, hated it, and wanted to make money based on my own performance. I see my peers on this site and see that they are able to influence you based on the stories of our success. Just to give a quick bio about myself, I will start by saying that my career started at Datek Online. I was just out of college, the easiest job interview that I ever went on, and the best working experience of my life from a social aspect. I never had a job when everyone was the same age, good mix of females, and more fun socially than college. It was a good learning experience. I made shit money, was broke but learned how the market worked. I learned the structure of the market and how people were making good money. I left Datek and went to Island, a subsidiary of Datek to hopefully be a part of something that was young, innovative, and an experience that would be invaluable to what I ultimately wanted to do, which is trade. This was between 1/99 and 7/00, the biggest boom in equities trading ever. Everyone was making money, and I was just someone sitting on the fence. I probably supported the biggest bull market of all time. The opportunities to make money was everywhere. All you had to do to make money was stay in your position. I never saw such movement and instant wealth. I dabbled, but never committed myself to this profession. Daytraders, as they were known back then, were making good money and even individual investors. Even my mail man was informing me how well the market