Getting Started

Discussion in 'Trading' started by begintade, Sep 7, 2003.

1. begintade

begintade

Hi, Im new to the trading scene and would like a little help to get started. Is there any software out there that would be helpful for me. Something that would lead me in the right directions and help me learn best practice. Maybe a trading web sight that some of you like to use that will allow me to make some low cost secure trades. Like many people Im just trying to make ends meet so money is an option im my case. Thanks for any help.
    ~Brad

2. tampa

tampa

...people who are "just trying to make ends meet" are at a serious disadvantage in this game...

3. LegattoAD

LegattoAD

I agree with tampa. If money is an issue for you, then you might want to reconsider just going out and getting a brokerage account.

However, this doesn't mean that you can't practice trading. And that depends on what you plan on trading. For stocks/options I use Simvesting.com. It's free, and your fills are in real time. I've enjoyed using that for a while. The only downside is that normally, the fills come immediately, which we know, doesn't always happen in the real world.

For practicing futures trading, I use the best direct platform. The first month is free, and then there's a monthly fee after that, though I can't remember the exact figure. I do remember that it's not alot.