Getting started

Discussion in 'Trading' started by runT1ME, May 19, 2003.

1. runT1ME

runT1ME

Let me preface this by saying I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask these questions, if its not I apologize.

I'm not a trader, but lately i've started thinking about getting involved. unfortunately i'm also a little overwhelmed by the amount of content floating on the internet, along with the plethora of "Must read" books.

I'm currently a software engineer making a living, but i'm looking for a career thats a little more exciting and high risk (young, no family, extra money, why not?). I'm not looking to make a quick buck, and I am willing to invest time into learning, studying, and hopefully i'll eventually be able to make money. Are there people here who make good money? How do I get involved? Any advice to get me started in the right direction would help, and any opinions, recommendations, book suggestions, anything, would be greatly appreciated.

2. If you do not want to get rich quick and you have money, then forget it.

Come back when you reverse that condition so you can lose.... and recover...... then lose again. Your hunger will increase and then you will learn something.

Michael B.

P.S. in your current condition you have to much to lose.

3. dbphoenix

dbphoenix

You're going to get a lot of bonehead responses to your questions as well as a few that might actually be helpful, and it'll be up to you to separate the logical and sensible from the puffed and hormonal.

One question. You apparently work for somebody else. Have you given any thought to the process you'd go through to open up a software engineering business/office/service of your own?

4. Kermit

Kermit

runTime: