Getting Started Part-Time

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by hii-society, Mar 4, 2006.

1. Hey winners.. After browsing thru this instense forum, I've learned alot about different type of tradings. I want to start trading part-time but the challenge is that some thread say that day-trading is the way to start learning. I'm in Swing Trading because (please correct me if I'm wrong) it seems to be a slower paced trading strategy.

Well the question is basically, what kind of trading should a beginner/wannabe part-time trader start with? What is the recommended startup capital?

BTW, I'm reading on the Jack Hersey Equities Method, which I'm planning to "break-in" with. Am I on the right track?

Thanks for all your help.

2. I am a beginner too and I am starting with swing trading. Day trading is VERY intense!. And your account will be reduced to rubble quickly if your not careful...its been said that traders become better after they blow one account..to learn to day trade can cost as much as a 4 year college education.

Not really sure what to tell you because I dont know how much you know about trading and the markets as a whole, but the idea that you can make 50,000 a week and just place a few trades in the morning, hit the golf course, and go flat at the end of the day is NOT reality for most people as it appears in the books.

Stick with swing trading, it will give you a security blanket to have a job and still be able to trade, part time. I have a part time job and trade the market from open to 1:30 ... I do my research, place my trade, put in my stop, go to work, come home, check prices, next day..take profit..or hold longer...repeat process.

start with about 5-10,000 ...lol i'm trading with 1,000, but day trading needs about 25-50k...100 shares of apple will cost about 5,000 dollars!...just for 100 shares!..thats minimum...i hope you see what im getting at...5-10k is still not a whole lot, but its a good start.