Getting started - beginner part time trader

Discussion in 'Trading' started by YP88, Aug 14, 2017.

1. YP88

YP88

Hi,
    I am new in the trading world. Can you please help me with following questions?
    • Which platform should I use for charts and technical analysis to practice?
    • I have 8-5 EST job, what should be the trading strategy? Could you please explain the strategy?
    • Stocks VS Forex, what is the best option considering I will have time after and before market only. I could use my phone on work for 10 to 15 mins.
    • Is there any course or book specific to part time trader?
    • Do I need a mentor? Can you suggest any who could help in the beginning stage?

2. danielc1

danielc1

Hello, Welcome.
    No easy answers to your questions. Seek a mentor. Ken Long is a good one if you could connect with his way of trading. What is your background?

3. ironchef

ironchef

If you have a full time job don't day trade, you don't have time to monitor your day trades. Try swing trade, easier and takes less time to monitor your position and you can monitor/make decisions after and before work. As for method, there are lots of successful methods, you just have to pick a style that fits your personality. For example, I don't use TA or charts to trade.

Good luck and best wishes.

4. YP88

YP88

Thanks for a reply, I am a software engineer. I have basic knowledge of stocks.
    Can you please suggest platform/broker should I use for charts for swing trading? Any good course or resource for swing trading?
    • Stocks VS Forex, what is the best option considering I will have time after and before market only. I could use my phone on work for 10 to 15 mins at a time.
    • Do I need a mentor? Can you suggest any who could help in the beginning stage?

5. johnnyrock

johnnyrock

You can pick up a used copy of Alan Farley's, "The Master Swing Trader," for $10 (including shipping) on Amazon.

ironchef and comagnum like this.