Getting PAST the mania...

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by scriabinop23, Sep 15, 2006.

1. I'm a newer trader (really 6 months at it), and would like to share something probably common that I'm struggling with, but am determined to beat:

I have a tendency after days of really great gains from deliberate and disciplined trading (ie in the 2k-10k profit range) to lose it quickly on bad negligent, impulsive, revenge traded, etc. etc. trades. I'll also admit I'm still at a phase where I'm enthusiastic to trade probably too many mediums: stocks, options, index futures, commodity futures, bond futures, etc. etc. I haven't yet specialized too much (although I am starting to focus most on bonds and nat gas). This may be part of the problem, where my options #s and stock trades are killing my total gains. PS - I am a discretionary swing trader who occasionally does several long scalps throughout the day. I'm not yet a high volume guy. My contract #s are in the 1-4 range usually. Anyway, it is killing my net numbers, and I am determined to get rid of this habit.

The only thing I have figured out as a way to keep me from getting too out of control, at this point, is to pay myself well on my good days -- keeping my trading account smaller.

But seriously, today is a perfect example. I am in on a long natural gas spread that is starting to dwindle serious payoffs. Additionally, I'm doing some kickass methodical and disciplined bond trades - but when I see the net profit numbers climbing higher and higher for the day, I start doing the unthinkable, making impulsive long and short trades on oil with WAY higher contract size than normal trying to scalp a little bit off the QM. We all know how this ends. I am giving back to the market on trades I never even intended to take going into the market

I am becoming a good trader, but my psychology is my weakness, and I hope to overcome this.