Getting orders filled on spreads

Discussion in 'Options' started by mportnoy, Feb 23, 2020.

1. mportnoy

mportnoy

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum.

I trade options, mostly credit spreads. I've been trading since 2014.

I like options because I enjoy the math, the statistical analysis, and the data analysis involved in building a good strategy.

Over the last year, I've built two strategies that perform very well when looking at backtested price data and when forward testing in both demo and TOS OnDemand.

I consider them to be 'synthetic credit spreads' because they don't fit into traditional spread categories, and they limit risk to 75% of reward.

However, as you're probably going to guess...my strategies don't seem to work in the live world. I have a difficult time getting my positions filled, even if it's just 1 contract. My orders just sit, even when the spread price is below my limit. I suspect that my strategies aren't adequately suited for retail trading, but who knows?

Maybe this isn't the place to ask this question, but how do you guys deal with getting your orders filled?

David Taylor likes this.

• Market orders
    • Limit orders at the respective bid/ask

David Taylor likes this.
  2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

How about a real example from last week?
    Stock symbol?
    Where was it trading?
    What was the option spread?
    What was the NBBO and midpoint at the time?
    What limit did you enter and at what time of day?

3. I think the "fills" using OnDemand in TOS are similar to the "fills" using PaperMoney/Simulated Trading in TOS, which both ASS-U-ME fills at the MID. While assuming fills may be possible at the MID is viable, assuming fills are probable at the MID is not. Robert & OptionsOptionsOptions responses should be considered.

4. SanMiguel

SanMiguel

I usually get filled at the mid

5. mportnoy

mportnoy

Thanks for the replies, I apologize for the lack of info in my first post.

I only trade SPX credit spreads.