Getting in too early

Discussion in 'Trading' started by arzoo, Sep 6, 2002.

1. arzoo

arzoo

I've been daytrading for a few months and have been slowly improving. I use 10-min charts and find short bases trade break out or break down following the nasdaq's movement.

In trading the breakouts and breakdowns, I take whatever gains, not really going after big gainers if the market slows down, which has helped my keep some gains, although get out too early.

I've noticed however, that in entering trades, whether short or long, I sometimes get in too early. Like for example csco, which broke 13.10 to cover the gap this morning. But after going to about 13.07, it returns to 13.13/13.14, which may or may not prompt a stop before moving down to 12.96 or so.

This wasnt too good an example since the move back wasnt too sizable, but sometimes the break is correct but that one return move is enough to get you out. Am I getting in too early, or is my stop too close. I try to keep my stops at 1-1.5% to avoid big losses.

2. trader99

trader99

Yeah... I have some of the same problems sometimes. I noticed that I'm usually "right" on the direction but a lot of times a little "early" like you said, then I get "shaken out" because the move was too adverse.

I'm not sure how one would go about solving it, but I guess there 2 ways:

1) get in a little later? hehe. But if what is early and what's late? It's only obvious after the fact...

2) Willing to hold for more wiggle room. That's wider stops?

whaddaya think?

trader99

3. bone

bone

Just think about baseball.

4. bone, can you elaborate please?

5. arzoo

arzoo

You're right trader99, there are 2 ways, I just dont know which one. I know things like this fall under the 'subjective' topic and to each his own.

I'm hoping that you guys who are a lot more experienced than I am have seen the pros and cons of going about it. And if there are any, indicators that may help.