Getting Hired At A Prop Firm

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Fundlord, Nov 9, 2014.

1. Fundlord

Fundlord

Im an individual trader mostly trading major currency pairs on a short term basis (10 minutes - 1 day)

I have run my original stake of 1100$ into $8700 since july.

I know I am working with small amounts of money but is it possible to be accepted at a prop firm based on a track record of lets say 12 months ? ( I trade until next July and approach them with my track record)

I have pretty extensive knowledge of the markets I first got interested when I was 15.

I do not hold a degree in finance or economics. (I just turned 20)

I am looking for a career in Hedge Funds and money management.

Thank you

2. xandman

xandman

No. Start with a degree.

3. F*** the degree, f*** the prop firm, and f*** the hedge fund. Just keep doubling your money every month. In 5 years you can retire.

4. Fundlord

Fundlord

Love attitude I don't think that will be possible once my account grows to a certain level.

The only reason I'm profitable is because I can get out of a 10x leveraged position that is going against me within seconds that wouldn't be possible with a $100,000,000 position without being slipped.

If I doubled $1100 every month for 5 years I would end up with $1,268,213,655,067,531,673,600 :eek:

Trading my account forever is still an option of course.

5. Since you are not in the position of not being able to get out of a trade, I don't see where the problems is. Would trading for a hedge fund solve that problem of not being able to get out of a large trade ? No it doesn't.

Are you BS'ing or can you really double your money every month ? Might it not have been luck ?

6. Fundlord

Fundlord

Trading for a prop firm would mean a real income until I can have a real grubstake to go out on my own.

I can't really live off my current trading income nor would I want to withdraw anything.