Getting back

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Mequity, Feb 11, 2007.

1. Mequity

Mequity

hello everyone,

I've been reading this forum for a long time but i've never been an active reader.

I came here because i've got a problem with getting back on my normal track record.

I am an active trader outside US, i've been an constant but something changed few weeks ago.

I've caught few really bad trades.

How do you deal with such situations?

I plan to take a week outside the market and make some paper trading to recover self-confidence.

what do you do in bad periods?

thanks,

Mequity

2. It's better to reduce your position size, not paper trade. Then again............if you're a 1-lot trader..................I guess you'd have to paper trade in order to reduce your position size to "zero".

3. Shorten up your timeframes... Smaller stops on multiple positions, the market always moves and follows through on the shortest timeframe with confirmation from the larger time frame. Loosing big on big entries from longer timeframes suck. Trading the smaller, allows you to reverse constantly...

4. when trading price action, you need to be able to exit and enter, and exit and enter, when focused on one position, it disables u to some extent from flowing with the price action.

Try this paper trade with unlimited quantities and keep escalating the quantities as the session progresses, the early lack of sentiment and trend in the market and early chop trade is made up by the shear numbers and profit as the session progresses.

You become very fluid in your trading and not concerned about the trade u placed early in the day. Predictability factors become more apparent as the session progresses. Especially on a news day.

5. Adamned

Adamned