Getting a "real" job as a trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Cityslick, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Cityslick

Cityslick

Hello everyone,

To start off...I'm not a complete newb when it comes to trading. I started of retail trading with FX and then managed to get a job as a equities trader for a NYC prop firm. No I did not have to put up my own $$$, they backed me fully after a 3 month trial period.
    I worked hard and did my best, made money lost money, but I was still wet behind the ears and now realize the amount of emotional and psychological control one has to have in order to trade. Thus, I have been working on my weaknesses since. Paper trading doesn't reveal much especially when it comes to emotions but at least my setups and entries/exits have gotten a lot better as well.

Unfortunately, I had to leave due to family reasons which required me to travel abroad for a considerable amount of time. I've returned stateside and I've slogged through a couple job prospects which basically were basement chop shops or boiler rooms.

My question is how do I get an entry level position on a trade desk. I'm not expecting a big bank or hedge fund as I didn't go to an Ivy League school and my GPA at undergrad wasn't top notch either. I guess maybe a trade clerk/trading assistant position is what I'm looking for. If there's anything lower rung than that. that's fine with me too.My prop trading background was purely equities but I do also have experience in the futures market trading the ES mini.

I understand humility is paramount and I don't really care if I have to walk around all of NYC being a go-fer for a trader on a desk as long as there's true potential to get somewhere. I'm still at home, few bills to pay, so money would be nice but I can sacrifice a $40-$60k salary for $20k a year at a firm with a good opportunity.