Getting a job as a project manager

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by TargetBeachFron, Jul 25, 2008.

1. I have a few years of experience in software development but haven’t used my skills much because I have been trading for almost 3 years. Unfortunately, it seems I will have to get a job soon so I’m evaluating my options.

The technical field is a rapid pace one and since I was out of the circuit for a few years it would be hard to get a job as a software developer. I think it would be easier to get a job as a project manager but maybe I’m mistaking. I’m not sure what the salary would be compared to a software developer.

I don’t have experience as a project manager but I’m hoping with my personality, my software development experience and academic background (engineering) I should be able to manage a software project. I also did a course on project management back when I was doing my degree.

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and personal experiences.

2. Yes. Be less wishy washy on interviews...

3. Speaking of interviews TraderZones, how do you explain what you have been doing for the past few years when they ask you ?

I'm sure many traders come from the IT field. How does one get back on a payroll after a few years of trading ?

4. Euler

Euler

I've seen a number of friends only having a vaguely relevant background get project management jobs in software. It may take a bit of time and/or contract work to get into it, but it's very feasible, given the right personality, etc. It helps to be in an area where a lot of such jobs exist (Silicon Valley, Boston, Seattle, LA, NYC, Chicago, Atlanta, etc.).