Get a job?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Little Nickey, May 21, 2001.

1. To anyone who is not shy... I am relatively new to all this, but I have always wondered. Does anyone here make a living by only trading? Just wondering if it is possible. Hope I'm not getting too personal!

2. I derive my primary source of income from trading now. It took me a year and a half to get to the point that I was consistently profitable to make trading my primary job. I also would recommend that you take into account the added pressure that comes with trading as a primary job and assess your emotional suitability for it.

3. Dustin

Dustin

4. Thanks for the info. Very inspirational!

LN

5. As long as you are consistant it isn't dificult. Im a college student, and my only expense is beer, but for those of you with families, you have to condider the stress of NEEDING to make money. It can lead to forced trades. Consider it this way. 220 trading days a year. $500 a day, which is very easy is 110k. 2k a day, which isn't that hard will give you a half mil. As long as you don't have too many bad days, you should be fine if you can trade well.

6. First of all, I don't trade for a living (maybe some day). I made decent % return last year, but haven't traded really at all this year (too much to do at work). Anyway, my opinion is that when your bills depend on your trading, it's a completely different story. Ever see someone on "who wants to be a millionaire" say: "it's funny how you suddenly doubt yourself when you get up here." That, friends, is what you call pressure.

7. Even though it is fun to dream, it's nice to get a hard shot of reality. It lets you know what you're really dealing with. I am young (22), but I do have a wife and son, and another baby on the way. All of your comments are much appreciated. Thanks again for the insight.

LN

8. Jeffrey

Jeffrey

Look at trading as a pursuit at least like anything in the real world.